On the Move (the book)

From January 2017 through January 2020, I volunteered in Brussels, Belgium at the Fedasil Arrival Centre with poet and writer, Sarah Reader Harris. Every Monday, we stood beneath a covered corridor where there were no walls to close us in and we invited asylum seekers to share their hopes, dreams, and stories. We began with the written and spoken word, and then we worked together to create a song.

With titles like “Never Give Up” and “I am the Change,” the songs we have written together with asylum seekers bear witness to the strength and resilience of the human spirit. You can read about the stories behind the songs and listen to recordings by visiting Guiding Songs: Migration Songs. We have written songs in many languages with people from countries all over the world who journeyed to Belgium in search of a safer life.

“On the Move: Poems and Songs of Migration” highlights 27 songs from 18 different countries with lyrics encompassing 11 languages over the course of the book. The reason we chose these 27 songs (as opposed to including all 46) is that these are the most finished and ready to sing. We invite you to click on the links below to learn more about the process of bringing each song into the world. There are also photos, recordings, and videos that bring each song to life.

  1. Never give up
  2. A peaceful life
  3. The sun will come again
  4. Laugh at life
  5. I am the change
  6. Love
  7. Break the code
  8. I am a word
  9. Remember Rose
  10. The Domes of Damascus
  11. If only we hope
  12. Don’t wait, create
  13. Nataghiar
  14. The Pigeon Song
  15. Just be happy [The meaning of life]
  16. I could be you, you could be me
  17. Soyons unis
  18. We are all human
  19. Open the Borders
  20. Let me be free
  21. My lovely, my lovely [Habibi, habibi]
  22. The hand that hurts can also heal
  23. We are the nomads
  24. You are always here with me
  25. Give me a chance
  26. When you cross the border
  27. A wild idea

The book is for purchase on Amazon marketplaces around the world. To make the book affordable for everyone, we have created both Color and Black&White versions. The proceeds initially will be put toward recording an album of migration songs you will be able to purchase and download. Once this project has been realized, one third of the proceeds from book and music sales will be donated each year to an organization that helps refugees and asylum seekers.

To Order Our Books

Note: Our books are available for purchase on all Amazon marketplaces. This helps to keep printing costs low so the prices are accessible for everyone. A portion of the proceeds from every sale will be donated to an organization that works with refugees. If you click on the links and images below, you will be taken to the Amazon US versions in both Color and Black&White.


Color(Amazon United States)

Black&White(Amazon United States)



Color (Amazon France)

Black&White (Amazon France)

Help us record migration songs!

We are hoping to record these songs in order to send them out into the world. Music is a universal language, and listening to these songs can help people transcend fear and connect with people they have never met. We all have a story to tell, and in sharing our stories we can transform the world.

Any amount you can donate will help us get closer to our goal of recording these songs. Once we have covered the cost of recording the songs, a portion of all proceeds from our book and album will be donated each year to an organization that works with asylum seekers.

Another way to support the project is to buy a “We are not so different, you and I” sticker! Suggested donation $2-5, and we will happily mail one to you.

With oceans of gratitude and love,
Marieke & Sarah 🙂

To support the project, visit our GoFundMe site: Recording Migration Songs